Administrative Units

The Republic of Rwanda is divided into Provinces, Districts, Sectors and Cells. The District is the basic political-administrative unit of the country.

The Cell Organizational Structure

The Village is the smallest politico-administrative entity of the Country and hence closest to the people. Therefore, this is the entity through which the problems, priorities and needs of the people at a grassroots level will be identified and addressed.

Leaders at the Village level are volunteers who are elected, to serve their country, through a direct and universal suffrage by all the residents of the village aged above 18. They don't handle any technical issues.

Above the Village is the Cell, which is managed by competent technicians, with another political team that serve as decision makers and advisors to those technicians.

Technical and key political matters are handled and addressed at the Cell level. The key organizational bodies of the Cell are:

(i)The Cell Council(CC)

All citizens resident in the Cell who are aged 18 and above are members of the Cell Council. The Cell Council mobilizes the residents of the Cell, identifies, discusses and prioritizes the problems of the Cell, and takes decisions for their resolution.

(ii)The Cell Executive Committee (CEC)

The Cell Council elects the Cell Executive Committee composed of ten members.The CEC executes functions related to administration and community development including the policy orientation and technical advisory for the the implementation of the decisions taken by the Cell Council.

The Cell Executive Committee works through its technical committee (the Community Development Committee) to identify and prioritize needs, design development plans, mobilize development resources and implement the plans.

The Sector Organizational Structure

The Sector is the third level of administration where people participate through their elected representatives. The following is the administrative structure at the Sector level.

(i) The Sector Council (SC)

There is a political organ for policy-making decisions called the Sector Council. The number of Sector Council members is determined by the number of Cells forming the Sector. The Sector Council’s functions include approval of Sector action plans and programmes and ensuring the follow-up of their implementation.

(ii) The Sector Executive Committee (SEC)

The Sector Council (SC) elects the Sector Executive Committee (SEC) to support the preparation and implementation of its policies, plans, and decisions.

The SEC is composed of 10 members and monitors the day-to-day administration of the Sector and the implementation of the decisions and plans of the Sector Council.

The Sector Executive Committee works with the technical support of its two sub-committees:

· The Political and Administrative Committee (PAC)
· The Community Development Committee (CDC).

The Provincial organizational structure

The Province serves as a coordinating organ to ensure the efficiency and effectiveness of Central Government planning, execution and supervision of the decentralized services. It serves mainly as advisor to the decentralized entities and coordinates development activities.

The administrative structure of the Province is as follows :

(i) The Governor of the Province

The Governor of the Province is the custodian of the authority of the State and the Government’s delegate in the Province. The main functions of the Governor of Province are: to ensure the execution of and adherence to existing laws and regulations; to ensure the implementation of Government programs;and to take, within its competence and on the basis of instructions from the Government, all measures and initiatives to promote the general development of the Province.

(ii) The Provincial Coordination Committee (PCC)

The Provincial Coordination Committee is composed of :

· The Governor of Province who is also the        Chairperson
· The Permanent Secretary, Secretary
· The Chairpersons of Councils of District that make up the Province, members
· The Coordinators of Departments in Province, members
· The Heads of decentralized services at Province, members.

The mains functions of the Coordination Committee of the Province are to examine and coordinate all matters concerning the administration and the development of the Province.

(iii) The Provincial Permanent Secretary (PS)

The Provincial Permanent Secretary ensures the coordination of the administrative and technical services of the Province.

(iv) The Province organizational structure